City Council

The City of Arden Hills operates as a State statutory A City, the most common form of City government in Minnesota. The elected council includes the mayor and four council members, who each carry equal voting weight. The mayor serves a four-year term, while council members serve four-year staggered terms. Local elections take place in November of even-numbered years.

The City Council has the following duties and authority:

  • Legislates for the city, passes ordinances, sets administrative policy.
  • Manages the city's financial operations.
  • Oversees development in accordance with the comprehensive land use plan.
  • Appoints administrative personnel and approves hiring and termination.
  • Appoints persons to administrative committees and commissions.
  • Conducts the city's intergovernmental affairs.
  • Protects the welfare of the city and its residents.
  • Provides community leadership.

The mayor executes official documents, makes appointments subject to the approval of the council and presides at council meetings.

In January, each council member is appointed to serve on one or more of the city's commissions and committees.

Contact Us

  1. Julie Hanson
    City Clerk
    Ph: 651-792-7811
    Email Julie Hanson

    Jolene Trauba
    Deputy Clerk
    Ph: 651-792-7830
    Email Jolene Trauba